Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


A 40 Day Journey Day 19 ~ Teaching an old dog new tricks

We have all heard the old saying; you can’t teach an old dog a new trick.  It is sayings like this or self-created reasons why I believed I couldn’t learn new things…A silly fear really, but a very powerful one.  This type of thinking has kept me from going back to school to learn new things.  I could think up 101 reasons every day why I was too old to further my education but now I am learning to learn.

A few years before I hit 40 I could feel things within me start to shift, asking hard questions like, who I was… What did I want to do?  I would push those thoughts down; locked them up in a dark cobweb covered corner of my mind.  I mean, really I was too old to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up.

Or was I?

Then as life often does things changed…I was packing up my house and my kids and saying goodbye’s to the people who had been in my life over the past years.  It was just a few months before my 40th birthday and my life wasn’t just changing locations it was changing emotionally and spiritually for me.  I can’t believe that so much has changed within and around me in such a short time.  But I am getting ahead of myself or is it I am getting off target?  Anyway…

When I first arrived at my new home I felt lost, incomplete and sad for myself.  I have mentioned this in my previous blog A Tree of Love. In reality, all these big changes in me have just begun, and it is exciting to see where all this is going.  I was inspired by so many great women lately and it was this inspiration that started this 40 day journey to examine my fears…But I want more! I did not want my growing to just start and stop there so I had to take another step out of my old dog comfort zone.

What step is this?

Well I signed up for classes on herbalism and green things! It is something I have wanted to do for years but told myself I didn’t know enough to join a class.  How stupid is that thought!?  If I knew it all I wouldn’t need a class.  These are those really silly excuses we make that become chains to bind us to the “I can’ts.”

So I just started and I am like a child in kindergarten, taking in so many new things!  I have chosen online classes right now, ones that will be flexible with my schedule and my family.  I bought a book for my first plant journal and this weekend I am off to the book store for Botany in a Day by Thomas J. Elpel and my color pencils for journaling!

My excitement for learning has been infectious with my kids, they want to learn plants with mom, and I love this!  And class online, working at my own pace, allows me to share what I am learning with them.  It also allows me to get my feet wet slowly so I don’t come up with any other silly excuses.  It amazes me that I did not do this sooner, but I guess my journey here makes it worth it even more!

I am glad I am learning to overcome fears and all the little lies I have told myself.   I see each new day as a clean slate, ready to face all life has to offer me that day.  Maybe that has been the most important lesson this “old” dog has learned, to stop worrying about what tomorrow might bring and see what the day at hand can teach…

May your day be filled with beautiful life lessons!

