Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Food for My Family

Yesterday I took time away from my computer and my blog to celebrate Earth Day with my family.  In the past few years I have become increasingly concerned with things like, the food my family consumes, medications and medical care, and our environment on a whole.  So over the next couple of days I will share some of my fears on these topics, it is not my intention to push a certain view but to share my fears and how I may choose to face them.

GMO’s

So what is a GMO?  Simply, it is a Genetically Modified Organisms, or food that has had its DNA artificially altered in a laboratory by genes from other plants, animals, viruses, or bacteria, in order to produce foreign compounds in that food.  Yes, this means meats and produce alike can be altered.  They can be spliced with pesticides to “help” protect crops, but who is protecting us from untested results of these Frankenstein foods?

Honestly, I had never heard of GMO’s until about a year ago, and when I learned about them the more frightened of them I become.  This sci-fi horror food has made me more responsible when it comes to what I put on my family’s table.  We began growing more of our own food; even small amounts of homegrown food will do a number of things, like:

  1. Cut costs on groceries (Who doesn’t want that)
  2.  It’s good for the earth
  3. It’s a great was to spend time outdoors and unplug from the cyber world, games or TV. Added bonus time with the ones you love!
  4. It gives a sense of wonder to see a tiny seed grow to a food bearing plant!

The list of good reasons can go on but you get the picture! ; )

Okay, so back to my fears on GMO’s… I have a husband that has COPD, asthma and allergies, one of my sons also has asthma and allergies, my daughter has allergies and has suffered from migraines since she was 2 years old, and I don’t want to feed them things that can or will make these conditions worse.  We simply don’t know the long term effect on humans.   Studies on lab rats have shown a number of health issues in GMO fed rats… I don’t know about you but I don’t want to gamble with my family’s health.  This is risky business and it’s a risk not worth taking.

The medical effects are not my only fear with GMO’s there are environmental issues that need to be looked at…Death of the Bees is but one issue. Genetically modified crops are proving to be linked to the decline of bee colonies in North America, which is really scary.  What happens we no longer have nature’s pollinators?

We just don’t know enough about the impact on wildlife, both plant and animal, or the effect on our ground water. Big companies say we have no worries, but  I don’t want big corporation making any kinds of decisions for my family’s health and safety… That REALLY frightens me!

But don’t take my word for it, do your own research and make the choice that is right for you.  But what’s right for me is saying No to GMO’s and making sure that Frankenfood never makes it to my family’s dinner table.

Until next time, healthy eating and butterfly blessings!

When shopping look for the no GMO seal on your food products like this one:

For more information on GMOs

http://environmentalcommons.org/toxics.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/01/12/monsantos-gmo-corn-linked_n_420365.html

http://www.saynotogmos.org/

http://www.labelgmos.org/the_science_genetically_modified_foods_gmo/

http://kojoreport.com/?p=484

http://livingbeyondorganicmom.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/what-is-gmo/

