Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


The warm sunny weather of the past few days has me anxiously awaiting summertime and made me think of the poem I wrote last summer.  So in honor of springtime and the coming summer I am sharing it today.  I hope you enjoy!

Merry Wander of Midsummer’s Night

By: Julie A. Eastin

 

Merry wander of midsummer night bring to me my love

I will dance around the fire bright

In the dark under the soft moonlight

I await his arrival on this midsummer night

 

Merry wander of midsummer night bring to me my love

My audience the ancient trees of woodland groves

He won’t approach till near the break of day

Bless thee; bless thee on the night’s long eve

 

Merry wander of midsummer night bring to me my love

Night’s swift dragons keep far from him

Past the churchyard he does ride, ghosts long for life’s sweet breath

May my love shine bright and keep him from harm on this midsummer night

 

Merry wander of midsummer night bring to me my love

May angels guide him to my flowery bed

Out of the woods I will not tread till my love arrives

I long for our union, desires grow on this midsummer night

 

Merry wander of midsummer night bring to me my love

In the distant one can hear the horse hooves drawing near

My heart beat quickens, lovers delight

For safely he approaches on this midsummer’s night

 

Thank you merry wander from day of yore

Watch over us tonight while in raptures sweet kiss

When two bodies are one heart

Lost in love on this midsummer night.

 

